A colorful historic map of Clinton, CT in 1881. Now home to the Clinton Historical Society's "Buell Tool Museum" and the "Clinton Historical Society Museum", the city of Clinton was named for New York's Governor DeWitt Clinton in 1838, when the town formally divided itself from the northern town of Killingworth.
In 1701, the Reverend Abraham Pierson, was chosen as rector for the newly granted charter for the founding of a college in Connecticut. Classes were held in his Clinton parsonage. This school was later to move to Saybrook, then to New Haven, eventually becoming Yale University.
A charming illustration of the Victorian "Morgan School and Principal's Residence" appears in the left lower portion of the map. On the right side, is an illustration of "Bacon House", a summer resort hotel, complete with horse-drawn carriage traffic.
Complete reference list below.
Features numbered references to the following locations:
1. Post Office, J. C. Parker, Post Master
2. N. Y. N. H. & H. R. R. Station
3. Morgan School & Residence of Principal,
Dwight Holbrook A. M., Principal and Instructor in Classics, English, History and Literature.
J. H. Sperry, Assistant Principal and Instructor in Classics and Book Keeping
Miss Persis D. Hewitt, History, Natural Sciences and English Language
Miss Lucy M. Hewitt, Mathematics
4. Episcopal Church
5. Congregational Church
6. Baptist Church
7. Methodist Church
8. Bacon House, E. K. Redfield, Proprietor. The most popular summer resort on Long Island Sound.
10. Town Hall
11. Clinton House
12. Elliott Bros., Flour & Feed Store
13. W. H. Parks, Dry Goods & Groceries
14. E. Roberts, Bacon, Fish, Oyster & Meat Market
15. W. A. Barker, Hair Dressing & Shaving Saloon
16. Eben Griffing, Watch Maker & General Repairing
17. Geo. E. Elliott, Dry Goods and Groceries
18. Clinton Cemetery
John D. Leffingwell
Geo. E. Elliott
Andrew J. Hurd
Elisha K. Redfield
Secretary of the Treasury, Geo. E. Elliott